Saturday, 19 November 2011

Lovely!!!!

Thank you to Susan & Tyler-Rose at The Feather and the Rose for awarding me the One Lovely Blog Award!



Now it's my turn to award 15 people with this lovely award :)






And here they are:

1. Susan & Tyler-Rose of The Feather and the Rose

2. Lisa of Lisa Loves Literature

3. Jenna & Ashley of Fans of Fiction

4. Skye of In the Good Books

5. Lauren of 365 Days of Reading

6. Joy of Joyous Reads

7.  Sonette of Sonette's Bookworm Blog

8. Amber of Down the Rabbit Hole

9. Cialina of  Muggle-Born.net


10. Brittany of Nice Girls Read Books


11. Stacey of Pretty Books 


12. Lisa of Read Me Bookmark Me Love Me


13. Karen of The Slowest Bookworm

14. Lisa of A Life Bound by Books

15. Christina of Confessions of a Book Addict

For everyone who got an award, it's now your turn to give 15 people this award.

Saturday, 29 October 2011

The Hunger Games Movie Posters

 

 

 

 

Here are the Posters for The Hunger Games Movie, Don't they look great
I loved The Book and can't wait to see this movie

Saturday, 15 October 2011

 

 

Check out these Beautiful Covers for some of the worlds favorite classics. They are being released in March 2012 by Sterling Publishing. Click here for more information.

Source: sterlingpublishing.com

Wednesday, 28 September 2011

The Eternal Ones by Kirsten Miller

Title: The Eternal Ones
Author: Kirsten Miller
Release Date: 07/05/2011
Pages: 432 Pages
Type: E-book from Netgalley
Rating: 5 Stars




Summery:

Haven Moore has always known she's different: there are the talents that can't be explained; the knowledge of places she's never been; and then there are the visions that overwhelm her  - terrifying visions of a life that ended tragically two decades earlier and more than a thousand miles away in New York City. The citizens of Haven's rural, highly religious community, believe that she's been possessed by a demon. But this is no demon: it's reincarnation.
Haven journeys all the way to Manhattan in search of clues about her past life and a decades-old murder. One wrong move could lead her into the clutches of the sinister villain at the center of a conspiracy much larger than she could have ever imagined. But if she makes the right choices, Haven will find the answers she's been seeking her entire life.
This is an epic and thrilling romance set in the snake-handling churches of Appalachia, the dusty ruins of ancient Rome, and the grand mansions of Manhattan. The Eternal Ones tells the story of the first battle in a war between undying love and eternal evil.



Review:


Imagine spending your whole life as an outcast in the little town you grew up in, while also having visions of a past life filled with love and tragedy. This is what life if like for Haven Moore.

Everyone in Snope City thinks she strange, possessed by a demon even. All because she has visions of herself as someone called Constance and a man named Ethan and the terrible death that follows around 100 years ago in New York City.

Haven decides to find out what all the visions mean, which means going all the way to New York to do it.

I really loved this book, i was suck into the story from the very first page. Following Haven though it all to find the answer she's been seeking made it all the more injoyable.

The plot is great and everything is well detailed and easy to follow. Getting to know the characters is always one of my fave part,being able know there story is great, You never get confused or bored. What I enjoyed the most was there was no vampires or werewolves in sight which makes for refreashing change.

The Eternal Ones is a Beautifully written romantic mystery story that has something for everyone!





Sunday, 11 September 2011

A Quick Note

I apologies for my lack of post the last few weeks. I have been helping my dad build his new shed and all my spare time has been spent on that.

I'm slowly getting in some reading and should be back posting reviews soon.

Peace,Love & Books
Samantha

Friday, 12 August 2011

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

Title: The Hunger Games
Author: Suzanne Collins
Release Date: September 14, 2008
Pages: 463 Pages
Rating: 5 Stars



Summery:

Katniss is a 16-year-old girl living with her mother and younger sister in the poorest district of Panem, the remains of what used be the United States. Long ago the districts                                                                                                                              waged war on the Capitol and were defeated. As part of the surrender terms, each district agreed to send one boy and one girl to appear in an annual televised event called, "The Hunger Games." The terrain, rules, and level of audience participation may change but one thing is constant: kill or be killed. When her sister is chosen by lottery, Katniss steps up to go in her place.



My Review:

I first heard about this series 2 years ago but never got around to reading it then. Over the last 2 years I had picked it up so many times in book stores but I always put it back on the shelf, Then I found out it was being made into a movie I raced to my library and borrowed a copy, came home and jump right in.

I have only one thing to say WOW!!

This book has you sitting on the edge of your seat right from the first page, it grabs you and won’t let go, it’s that good. It has a bit of everything in it from action to romance even comedy. I was so hooked that I couldn’t put it down.

After I finished reading it I went straight on Amazon and bought the next 2 books, which should be arriving in the next week or two.
  
Suzanne has written one hell of a novel and I’m excited to read the second and third parts.

AN INCREDIBLE READ!!

Tuesday, 2 August 2011

The Kind Diet: A Simple Guide to Feeling Great, Losing Weight, and Saving the Planet by Alicia Silverstone

Title: The Kind Diet: A Simple Guide to Feeling Great, Losing Weight, and Saving the Planet
Author: Alicia Silverstone
Release Date: October 13, 2009
Pages: 320 pages
Rating: 5 Stars





Summery:
In The Kind Diet , actress, activist, and committed conservationist Alicia Silverstone shares the insights that encouraged her to swear off meat and dairy forever, and outlines the spectacular benefits of adopting a plant-based diet, from effortless weight loss to clear skin, off-the-chart energy, and smooth digestion. She explains how meat, fish, milk, and cheese—the very foods we’ve been taught to regard as the cornerstone of good nutrition—are actually the culprits behind escalating rates of disease and the cause of dire, potentially permanent damage to our ecology. Yet going meat- and dairy-free doesn’t mean suffering deprivation; to the contrary, The Kind Diet introduces irresistibly delicious food that satisfies on every level—it even includes amazing desserts to keep the most stubborn sweet tooth happy. Alicia also addresses the nutritional concerns faced by many who are new to a plant-based diet, and shows how to cover every nutritional base, from protein to calcium and beyond. Alicia knows that changing life-long dietary habits is a process, and that each person progresses at a different pace. For that reason, The Kind Diet encompasses 3 separate levels, from Flirting to Superhero. Flirts learn to dip a toe into the vegan pool, reducing their meat-eating and swapping out a few key foods for plant-based substitutes to see quickly how even small changes can reap big results. Vegans get to experience the life-altering effects of forgoing animal-products entirely, while still enjoying many convenience foods and meat substitutes in addition to the wonderful grains, vegetables and fruits that form the core of that diet. True enlightenment comes with the Superhero program, based on the principles of macrobiotics and built on a foundation of whole grains, vegetables, and other yummy foods that Alicia describes in detail. Whether your goal is to drop a few pounds, boost your energy and metabolism, or simply save the world, Alicia provides the encouragement, the information, and the tools you need to make the transition to a plant-based diet deliciously empowering.


My Review:
Wither your Vegetarian, vegan or just plain interested in the world of vegetarian/veganism, this is the perfect book for you.
I wanted to read this from the second I heard about it and I absolutely loved it.
I was quite shocked through out the whole book. I never knew what all the meat and animal products where really doing to our bodies and health. I was so interested in all the information Alicia had compiled, I was hooked from the get go and finished it in a matter of days.
Not only was there heaps of interesting and useful information but there was also dozens upon dozens of incredible healthy vegan recipes I am dieing to try, plus all the great looking pictures just make your mouth water.
After reading this I am slowing eliminating the meat and reducing the animal products in my life. This book is well worth the read.

Wednesday, 27 July 2011

Percy Jackson and the Olympians: The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan


Title: Percy Jackson and the Olympians: The Lightning Thief
Auther: Rick Riordan
Release Date: March 21, 2006
Pages: 375 Pages
Rating: 5 Stars 



After getting expelled from yet another school for yet another clash with mythological monsters only he can see, twelve-year-old Percy Jackson is taken to Camp Half-Blood, where he finally learns the truth about his unique abilities: He is a demigod, half human, half immortal. Even more stunning: His father is the Greek god Poseidon, ruler of the sea, making Percy one of the most powerful demigods alive. There's little time to process this news. All too soon, a cryptic prophecy from the Oracle sends Percy on his first quest, a mission to the Underworld to prevent a war among the gods of Olympus.



If you like Ancient Greek Mythology this is the book for you! Even if you don’t you love it.
I'm just finished reading this a fews days ago and absolutely loved it,I didn't want to put it down.
When I started reading this i had no interest in Ancient Greek Mythology but the second I started reading it i was hooked.It's such and interesting topic and there is so many exciting things to learn.
Percy life starts out like everyone else's until one day on a school trip he is attacked by a flying creature. He ends up getting expelled and sent to a camp where he finds out he is the son of Persidon (which would be a shock all on it's own),then he's accussed of stealing Zues' Lightning bolt and ends up facing furies & other monsters in his quest to find it and return it back to Zues.
If all that wasn't enough for a 12 year old to go threw he has to try and rescue his mother Hades who has her in the firey depts of Hell.
If your looking for a fun,exciting adventure story to read this is the one for you.I recommend to to everyone, it's an absolutely brilliant piece of work by Rick Riordan.

Thursday, 21 July 2011

First Stop, New York by Tracey West

Title: First Stop, New York
Author: Tracey West
Release Date: June 12, 2008
Pages: 144 Pages
Rating: 3 Stars

Aly & AJ prepare to take the country by storm! The first stop on their tour is New York City. Before their performance, Aly & AJ visit the brand-new Girls Rock Academy, a school for girls who love rock 'n' roll. The day before the grand opening, all the school's equipment is stolen! Can Aly & AJ solve the mystery of the missing guitars in time for the school's opening?


My sister is a huge Aly & AJ fan so when I heard about this book series I knew I had to get them for her. I ended up reading the first book and quite injoyed it.

It's the perfect book to read on a lazy afternoon,it draws you in and you go along putting all the clues together trying to work out who stole the music intruments.It's a fun and exciting read.

Anyone who likes Aly & AJ and Mysteries should get this book.

Friday, 8 July 2011

Tomorrow, When the War Began by John Marsden

Title: Tomorrow, When the War Began
Author: John Marsden
Release Date: June 1, 2006
Pages: 304 pages
Rating: 4 Stars



Summery :
When Ellie and her friends go camping, they have no idea they're leaving their old lives behind forever. Despite a less-than-tragic food shortage and a secret crush or two, everything goes as planned. But a week later, they return home to find their houses empty and their pets starving. Something has gone wrong--horribly wrong. Before long, they realize the country has been invaded, and the entire town has been captured--including their families and all their friends. Ellie and the other survivors face an impossible decision: They can flee for the mountains or surrender. Or they can fight.


My Review:
This book is incredible, I recomend everyone read this and the other six in the Tomorrow Series, you wont be able to put it down I know I couldn't. What I loved about this book was how Ellie,Lee,Fi,Robyn,Kevin & Corrie all stuck together even in such a horrible and scary situation,with all ther family and friends being held captive, not knowing if help is coming and left to fend for them self with little supplies. Of course there was the usual fights and romantic relationships that come with being around each other in such a small space for so long but other then that they manage to work out a plan to survive,finding out what was happening in there town and looking out for each other. When they go into town is a whole nother story, soldiers chase them, being shot at, getting shot, nearlly being captured and all this happening in only a few short days. That would give anyone nightsmares for life, so go out and borrow/buy Tomorrow,When the war began and get lost in this wonderful book :)

Monday, 27 June 2011

The Truth About Diamonds: A Novel by Nicole Richie

Title: The Truth About Diamonds: A Novel
Author: Nicole Richie
Release Date: October 3, 2006
Pages: 226 pages
Rating: 4 Stars 

Summery:

In her electrifying first novel, Nicole Richie tells the sensational story of Chloe Parker, a rock royalty princess and a card-carrying member of Hollywood's inner circle. At the age of seven, Chloe was adopted by a music superstar and his wife, transforming her life from rags to riches. What followed was a wild childhood distinguished by parties with movie stars and rock idols, run-ins with the press and the police, and a subsequent stint in rehab. Suddenly Chloe shoots to instant fame as a spokesmodel for a national ad campaign. When her long-lost birth father appears out of nowhere and her best friend betrays her, she must struggle to keep it all together -- her sobriety, her friendships, and her integrity despite the betrayals of those around her. Ultimately, Chloe comes spectacularly into her own, achieving stardom in her own right and finding true love. Through the eyes of the captivating Chloe and the talented voice of Nicole Richie, we are given a no-holds-barred look at Hollywood's new elite, behind the velvet ropes, inside star-studded premieres and parties. Whether they're doing the "circuit" (begin with shopping at Barneys New York, Marni, and Fred Segal, then end with the grilled vegetable salad at the Ivy), or ending up on the front page of your favorite weekly magazine, Chloe Parker and her fellow A-listers never fail to dazzle, their larger-than-life dramas more riveting than any reality show.

My Review
When I first saw this in a book store I was Like Do I really want to read this?, in the ead I did end up buying it and I read it in one day, it was that good.
This story is about Chloe Parker's struggle with fame, drugs, and romance. I found it to be a page-turner and always interested in what was going to happen next. I was actually shocked at how much I enjoyed this book.
It gives you an insight into the live of people in the spotlight and what can really go wrong if you don't have people in your life to keep you grounded. I've read reviews from other people saying it was badly written and wasn't that great, but there where just as many good reviews as there where bad ones.
Really enjoyed reading that novel,I recommend this to anyone who is a fan of Nicole Richie's but also anyone else who is looking for a good read.

Wednesday, 22 June 2011

My First Post

Hey guys, So I decided to start a Book Review blog and just finished my page design(Hope you like it). I'm excited to start reviewing all the books I read so keep checking back for more stuff. I'm really looking forward to seeing what feedback everyone gives me and if you have any book suggestions let me know. Until my next post :)

Peace,Love & Books
Samantha